A truly international contest

The Jury for the Car of the Year 2018 consists of 59 members, representing 22 European countries. National representation on the Jury is related to the size of the country's car market and its importance in car manufacturing. France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy and Spain each have six members; other countries, proportionally fewer.

Members of the Jury are elected for their personal competence, and not because of the importance of the publications they may represent. New members join the Jury at the invitation of the Jury Committee, following recommendations from regional groups. Each year, every member is required to confirm that car testing is a major part of his or her professional activity.

The Jury Committee consists of the members that represent the organizing publications plus three officers elected annually. For 2018 there are: President: Hakan Matson, motoring responsible of Dagens Industri, Sweden. Vice-president: Joaquim Oliveira, AutoFoco, Portugal. Secretary general: Frank Janssen, stern, Germany.